Quantcast
Channel: Elder Sign | Rules | BoardGameGeek
Viewing all 510 articles
Browse latest View live

Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: Gloria Goldberg - using an unlocked die mid turn

$
0
0

by mjrobertson

I'm playing my first game right now and have a question. Gloria Goldberg has entered an Other World location and has access to the red die via her ability. The yellow die is locked on a monster on another card.

She uses Bind Monster (after rolling, discard to defeat one monster) and thus completes that monster's task.

Can Gloria use the yellow die on her next roll as it has now been unlocked and is back in the dice pool? As far as I can tell from the rules the answer is yes but I'd just like to check.

Thanks!

Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: Questions: Turn Order and Allies

$
0
0

by AGN1964

Woot! We won our first Gates of Arkham game. Or maybe we didn't!!!

Q1) Many game effects cause the clock to advance. Do we still resolve all At Midnight effects at the end of Clock Phase, even if the clock gets to or passes Midnight earlier in the turn?

Q2) We had allies like Thomas F Malone in play. "Place 1 sanity token on T.F.M. to change ...". Do the tokens come from the player's own sanity or from the bank (i.e. are they just being used as counters)?

Q3) Also allies like Malone: Can you use this on any players dice rolls, or just your own.

Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: Missing rules text?

$
0
0

by haroth9842

Hello,
I have a very weird problem, and I need to ask you for help.
Elsewhere in the forum I have read the following:

EvilTwinXris wrote:

(...)the rules clearly state on page 7 the following.
If a player cannot possibly complete any of the remaining
tasks on the Adventure card with the dice he can roll, he
automatically fails to resolve the Adventure card.

I have downloaded the official rules and there is no such text on page 7.
I have also searched through the file for all instances of a "possib" phrase - there are three, but none of these is the rules text quoted above.
This rule, or it's absence, is very important in a corner case rules question I am answering elsewhere.
Does any of you know where can I possibly find it?
I came up with several scenarios what might have happened:
1) The rule was absent in the early printings. It was included later, but the online version wasn't updated nor an errata was posted.
2) The rule was only included in the early printings. It was dropped later, and the online version was silently updated.
3) I am hallucinating, my brain is damaged, or there's some other factor impeding my perception.

Maybe someone could check it in the physical rulebook*?
If it's in your book could you also check on the cover if it say's that it's a "revised printing" (it does say so in the online version)?

*I only have a physical version for my language. For this case I need to refer to the original rulebook.

Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: Adventure Card Penalties

$
0
0

by rahwl

This might be obvious but I haven't been able to find an answer in the rules or in the archives here or on FFG's forums.

Are adventure Penalties (and Rewards for that matter) grouped by type? That is, is the penalty on Horrible Visions (two brains and two hearts) classed as a 2 San and a 2 Sta loss? Or is it two 1 San losses and two 1 Sta losses? This affects for example Anna Kaslow, who receives a San token for each individual San loss (of whatever amount) experienced by the Investigator. It would also make Mythos cards like A Warning ... ... Of a Curse ("All Sanity and Stamina costs and losses are increased by 1") worse.

Are adventure losses all simultaneous or do they happen in the order as written on the card? So for Lights Out (1 heart - 1 Doom - 1 heart) this would also result in two separate Sta losses for Mythos cards which increase losses.

I have been playing rewards as simultaneous and grouped, but the timing rules are weird sometimes in Elder Sign (like how Monster rewards work as of the FAQ) and I started to wonder if this was right.


R.

Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: The FAQ at FFG website

Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: Monsters and completing adventures

$
0
0

by borsook

Am I right that if a monster is placed under an adventure card it has to be completed for the whole card to be completed? I.e. if I complete everything except for the monster the card is not complete.

Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: Two questions

$
0
0

by killerjoe1962

1.) after I roll I can use a spell to hold one of my dice, does it work like 'focus' where the cost is removing one die from my dice pool?

2.) Are players allowed to give each other cards or tokens to use?

Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: Timing question about "At Midnight" triggers

$
0
0

by killerjoe1962

I completed a location and drew and placed a new one, it says at midnight a creature appears, now it's the end of my turn and I advance the clock to midnight and activate the MYTHOS card currently in play, does the new location I just put into play trigger?

An answer in layman's terms would be appreciated since rule book wordings sometimes elude me...
soblue


Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: Revised Printing of rulebook

$
0
0

by killerjoe1962

I said in another thread that last week I "rented" Elder Sign from a FLGS and I'm pretty sure it was a first edition copy.

I bought my own copy (at that same store) and it said 'revised printing' on the rule book and it was thicker. I haven't yet gone through the whole thing but what are additions/deletions made from the original printing to now?

Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: Shub-Niggurath and monsters - OFFICIAL ANSWER

$
0
0

by Scarlet Witch

So, asked FFG about how to read Shub's special text:

Julia: The special text on Shub-Niggurath card instructs players to consider monsters as having one extra task represented by a single Terror requirement. This implies that defeating each monster in the game requires two tasks to be passed, which creates problems in case the monster is placed on a partial monster task. How is this situation to be handled? Is Shub's text to be intended as "add an extra Terror requirement to the requirements on the monster chit" instead?

This is the answer I got:

Hi Julia,
in regards to your question regarding Shub-Niggurath’s special text (quoted blow), you must complete both the following tasks in order to defeat the monster: a) the partial monster task’s uncovered symbols + all symbols pictured on the monster, b) A single terror symbol as dictated by Shub-Niggurath’s text. Regarding the adventure as a whole, if the adventure was originally two tasks, one of them being a partial monster task with a monster on it, under Shub’s effect it would become a three task adventure, two of which are required in order to even defeat the monster.

Dane Beltrami
Game Developer


So, they ruled it the hard way

Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: Locked dice on Cards/monsters when elder one awakens.

$
0
0

by LordJunon

So, when a elder one awakens, and there are dice that are locked on locations or monsters, do you get them back or are they locked for the fight?

Thanks

Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: Adventure card resolution timing question

$
0
0

by killerjoe1962

I complete an adventure card, do I replace it on the table before or after I collect my reward?

And a few more question about "Failing a task""focusing", "sspells", "clues"&"terror"

I fail a task, I remove a die from my pool, can I focus now (if I wanted to) and remove another die for doing so? Or do I focus before I remove a die from my pool for failing a task?

I roll my dice to attempt to complete a task, the adventure card has a terror effect, I fail the task & rolled a Terror on one of the die, does the effect kick in immediately or can I respond with using a clue token to re roll the terror die before the terror effect on the adventure card kicks in?

My character died as a result of a penalty on the adventure card but I had completed a monster on the card during my turn. Do I collect the monster token before I take the penalty or is the monster considered not beaten and remain on the adventure card?

Note: I totally SUCK at reading and correctly interpreting rules speak so if you wouldn't mind telling me in layman terms rather than copy & paste an extract from the rules I would really appreciate it.

I Love This Game!

Edit: I'm a former Magic: The Gathering asshat so timing rules plague every game I touch, my apologies.

Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: Ancient Ones from Omens of Ice in base game.

$
0
0

by 0616william

The rulesheet from the Omens of Ice says you can use all Ancient Ones from the Omens of Ice expansion in any other mode. However, it doesn't say how you should treat the new Storm doom icon.

I understand you could treat it as you would do so in their expansion, but the Ancient Ones from Gates of Arkham with the Gates doom icon are treated differently in any modes other than Streets of Arkham. So, how should you play those from Omens of Ice?

Also, I was surpised to not find any new Other World cards, as well as a bunch of new skill and event cards.

Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: About spells question

$
0
0

by carey370

hi, I have one question.

In case that the Spell has two securing icons, and the player wants to make the Spell secure ONLY one die at first, can another icon, which is not used yet, be used for securing for the next several rolls of dice?

Thank you~

Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: Souvenir Shop... how many of ...?!?!

$
0
0

by mentorius



BUY UP TO 2 ITEMS .

mmmmmmmmm.... questions!


- can I buy 2 allies with 10 trophies? (allies are items?)

- can I buy 1 clue and 1 spell with 5 trophies? (clues and spells are items?)

or...

ONLY can buy 2 item between COMMON and UNIQUE??


thanks for the help people!!

Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: "Ashcan" Pete & the Souvenir Shop

$
0
0

by Merkillinen

So, after initial items, every time "Ashcan" gets a Common Item, an Unique Item or a Spell, he can choose to get any of those listed or a Clue Token instead.

Does this apply when he's shopping at the Souvenir Shop? So he could "buy" a "Common Item" for 2 trophies and get a Unique Item or a Spell instead? I figure it is this way, since I'm in the understanding that Dexter Drake gets two spells if he buys one at the Souvenir Shop. That implies that skills like this work for others as well, no?

Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: Michael McGlen special hability

$
0
0

by Registrau

Hello,

I have a doubt regarding this character's hability to change a terror result into danger.

As much as I read the manual, and the character card, I don't understand how many times it can be used PER TURN.

The manual says "once per new roll", but what's a new roll? Each task? But it can't be a task, since you choose the task AFTER you roll...

It seems to me you can use it only once per adventure, which would be the same as once per turn. Am I wrong?

Maybe I'm confusing the meaning of task/roll/repeat roll/new roll.

Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: Can I use the 'Duke' card on Other World cards?

$
0
0

by starfruit

Duke : "You may discard Duke instead of suffering an Adventure card's penalty."

1. Can I use the 'Duke' card on Other World cards?

I think it's also related with an another statement.

2. Do Other World cards always go with Adventure cards??

If it's true, Duke can guard the special ability of Yog-Sothoth because it's triggered when a investigator suffered from Other World's penalties.

Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: Yig and killing a cultist with an item ability

$
0
0

by Registrau

If I kill a cultist using an item ability (this I don't complete said monster tasks, do I), do I have to remove an elder sign token?

My guess is not, since I killed it instantly without actually completing his tasks (I didn't roll any die to complete said tasks, he was an insta-kill)

Thread: Elder Sign:: Rules:: If I use a clue token, do I still get terror effects?

$
0
0

by Registrau

If I fail a roll, nand I get a terror result, and there's a terror effect, I know I have to endure the terror effect.

But what if I reroll using a clue token, and then I don't get any terror result? Do that avoid the terror effect mentioned before?
Viewing all 510 articles
Browse latest View live